Arte Es Vida


Blue Light Special by arteesvida
August 3, 2007, 1:20 am
Filed under: Home and Garden

I found this lamp at Salvation Army this week.  The lady that works there recognized me and gave me a good deal on it.

 

The best part about it? Someone had drilled a hole in the base and inserted a blue christmas tree lightbulb and then spliced the wire into the regular plug line.

The lamp itself is in very good shape except the finial on top has a big chunk broken out of it.  The finial is resin, and the rest of the lamp is metal so it may not be original to the lamp. 

The lamp came with a shade that wasn’t in terrible shape, though it was dusty/dirty and the shade was peeling up around the rim.  It wasn’t quite the right size either….this is a huge lamp that needs a huge shade.

I decided to paint the metal work black and replace the shade.  I painted all of the metal a flat black, then decided it would look better glossy so I added a coat of triple thick clear glaze.  I was able to tape up the bottom part fairly easily but protecting the globe was much more difficult since the top part had scalloped edges.  I painted the glass with a layer of vasoline, sprayed away, then wiped off the vasoline when the paint was dry.  The paint on the glass wiped right up and the paint on the metal was perfect.  (I had a couple smudges that I touched up with nail polish remover).  I replaced the shade with a larger, tulip style shade.  I would like to replace the finial as well, but buying just a finial is not that easy.  So I just painted it and turned the broken part to the wall until I find what I want.

But the best part? My sex-ay rockin’ blue lighted base!


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Ooooh, very pretty.

Comment by Hope




Leave a Reply

