Arte Es Vida


Paper Fabric by arteesvida
January 11, 2007, 12:48 pm
Filed under: Fabric Arts, Mixed Media

I made Beryl Taylor’s paper fabric last night. My original plan was to cut it into ATC’s but it looks so pretty on a large scale. I may cut it into 8x10s and frame some squares of it for myself, my mom, etsy, whoever wants one instead.

Let me tell you how it’s done!

All apologies to Beryl for anything I did wrong based on her original instructions. (Buy her book. For serious, y’all.)

I took a large sheet of unbleached muslin and layed it over garbage bags on the table. (I actually trimmed it up after I finished the process, it was easier to get a clean cut then by laying it on my tile floor and cutting it using the grout line as a straight edge.)

I layered the whole piece of fabric with Mod-Podge (Beryl’s exact directions were PVA or thinned white glue) and while the Podge was still wet covered the fabric, with spaces in between with joss paper from the Hong Kong City Mall in Houston.

I added another layer of Podge then covered the whole piece with randomly ripped and crumpled white tissue paper. (Beryl didn’t specified ripped and crumpled, but I like lots of texture.) While everything was still wet, I brushed on a blue dye and water mixture over the whole thing. I had one long joss piece that didn’t blend as well as the others so I went heavier on the dye in that area to blend it in more. It looks better in person than it photographed.

That’s it!


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Beryl Taylor is not a quilter, but her mixed-media work really inspired me to go way beyond the quilted fabric tradition. See entries from other fans, at “And Sew On,” “Altered Antiquity,” “Arte Es Vida,” […]

Pingback by More “avant-garde” quilters « Silverspring Studio




Leave a Reply

