Arte Es Vida


Shrink Art Pendent by arteesvida
December 22, 2006, 12:39 am
Filed under: Non-Traditional Jewelry, Rubber Stamping


“Faith” Shrink Art Pendent

Originally uploaded by faithwearspurple.

I am going to date myself horribly by saying I remember ShrinkyDinks. I thought they were the coolest things as a kid, and their fierce comeback pleases me inordinately. And I’m not the only Gen Xer who thinks so…I am seeing them used more often by adults than by kids…and jewelry designers are no exception. Shrink plastic is a great tool for making pins, charms, pendants, and earrings out of a virtually indestructible material…not to mention fun to work with! I recently bought a small sheet of it, and after a couple of trial and error pieces, came up with a basic pendent design that is going to look fabulous hanging on a choker length black silk cord.

For This Project You Will Need:

Shrinkable Plastic (I used Chunky Stamps brand…purchased from my local Wal-Mart)

An Ink Pad (I used black)

A rubber stamp (I used Stampabilities stamp #F1053, the Chinese character for “faith”…purchased from my local Hobby Lobby)

Acrylic paint, ink or colored pencils (I used Trans-Mix Media Brilliant Ink in Translucent Scarlet…purchased from my local Michael’s)

A hole making tool (I used a small hole punch) and a hole making tool if you wish to make a pendent or earrings

A pin backing and strong craft glue (such as E-6000 or Jewel Glue) should you wish to make a pin.

First you must cut your plastic to shape and size, keeping in mind that it will shrink considerably during baking (note the before and after shots accompanying this article). If you are quite incapable with a pair of scissors as I am, you can cheat and use a craft punch. I used a large round craft punch made by Marvy Uchida.

If you will be making a pendent or earrings, punch the hole for this now. It will be easier to center your stamp to a preexisting hole than properly center a hole after the plastic has been stamped. You must punch the hole before you bake or you are out of luck…shink art is not drillable like polymer clay is. Depending on the media you use to color the background, you may want to color first and then stamp to prevent smearing later on. When I stamped first, and then painted, the ink from the stamp smeared terribly even though I had let it dry for a long time before painting. If you are using paint or ink, make sure it goes on very thin, you want the final product to have a translucent feel to it. If you use colored pencils make sure the colors are blended very well. Any lines that show up now will be very apparent in the final product, as the shrinking process makes each color stronger and deeper (and each flaw more readily visible).

Let the paint dry completely, and then stamp your image, taking care to center it with your jump ring punch. Let the stamp ink dry completely as well.

Follow directions for baking and watch the shrinking begin. I used my craft dedicated toaster oven and a layer of tin foil underneath the shrink plastic. The original directions call for a piece of brown paper bag, and since I didn’t have one on hand, and being one for immediate gratification, I experimented with wax paper and tin foil and found the tin foil to work best. After removing the product and letting it cool, you can attach your jump ring or pin backing. With all the complicated jewelry making processes I experiment with, this one was quick, fun, and a refreshing change.

With a little web crawling, I came up with a couple of sites that could be of use to you should you decide to work with shrink plastic as well:

http://www.mcgpaper.com/artandcrafsu.html

This company sells an ink jet printer version of shrink plastic that opens up a whole world of jewelry design possibilities, you can print out photos, drawings, or a host of other intricate images with a clarity you can’t get from stamping and painting.

http://www.shrinkydinks.com/

The original ShrinkyDink folks have also recently introduced a printer safe version of shrink plastic, as well as offering free patterns for shrink projects on site. Lots to explore!


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So cute! But just so you know the stamp is sideways and the pendant should be flipped over for the chinese to read properly. 🙂

Comment by chinagirl

i am 60 yrs oage

Comment by terry woodson

i am 60 yrs of age i been doing shink art for over a yr. i needed to make some extra money so i started a line of one of a kind of shink art wind chimes its so must fun to do and to put so extra money in my pocket is nice to

Comment by terry woodson

[…] "Faith" Shrink Art Pendent Originally uploaded by faithwearspurple. I am going to date myself horribly by saying I remember ShrinkyDinks. I thought they were the coolest things as a kid, and their fierce comeback pleases me inordinately. And I'm not the only Gen Xer who thinks so…I am seeing them used more often by adults than by kids…and jewelry designers are no exception. Shrink plastic is a great tool for making pins, charms, pendants, and ear … Read More […]

Pingback by Shrink Art Pendent (via Arte Es Vida) « Τα πάντα γκρει




Leave a Reply

