Arte Es Vida


Stamped and Dyed Mother Of Pearl Beads by arteesvida
December 17, 2006, 8:24 pm
Filed under: Beading, Book Reviews, Rubber Stamping

I was reading the book Wild Color by Jenny Dean which is all about making and using natural dies. The book mentions dyeing mother of pearl buttons, which makes me think, why not mother of pearl beads?

I did some experimenting, and I found out that while the highly polished and sealed mother of pearl buttons didn’t take very much dye, the raw, unpolished beads did. In fact they took the dye so well, I could sponge it on with a paper towel to give the buttons a more variegated look.

Eye Necklace Close

Now I was really curious…what else would work? Would the beads take inks? Could I stamp their surfaces? I used the eye stamp from the Magical Signs and Symbols set by Anne Fiery. Most of the stamps are smaller in size, making them perfect for stamping on flat-surfaced beads and I was thrilled to discover that that my rubber-stamped image, took beautifully and set immediately. Even without benefit of an acrylic sealant, that ink did not BUDGE. (Do note that I used a Memories inkpad. Memories and Staz-On are both permanent so they will work best for this project…I don’t know how well other inkpads would perform) Make sure you have your stamp positioned perfectly the first time…I had a bottle of non-acetone nail polish remover next to me in case I made a stamping error, and even when wiping immediately, I still had trouble getting off all the ink!

Eye Necklace Smaller

I used one stamped bead as a focal point for a choker, but there are many other ways you can use them. You can stamp several images to form a pattern, or stamp each bead with a letter to spell a word, name, or message! Have fun experimenting!


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The style of writing is very familiar to me. Have you written guest posts for other bloggers?

Comment by Ted Burrett

I’ve worked as a freelance writer so you may have seen my work in other places on the web, I also wrote for BellaOnline for awhile and many of these articles appeared there.

Comment by arteesvida

I am no longer positive where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I must spend a while learning much more or figuring out more. Thanks for wonderful information I was in search of this information for my mission.

Comment by almorranas

Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web site on a regular basis, this web page is in fact pleasant and the users are actually sharing nice thoughts.

Comment by hemorroides




Leave a Reply

