Arte Es Vida


The Encyclopedia Of Jewelry Making Techniques by arteesvida
December 16, 2006, 10:43 pm
Filed under: Book Reviews, Metal Work

On The Shelf: The Encyclopedia of Jewelry Making Techniques by Jinks McGrath

The first thing I did when I opened this book was look for a section on repousse. I have been searching high and low for anything still in print on repousse. When I was a teenager, I had access to the lapidary on the military base my dad was stationed on. A ba-trillion years later, without that free metalsmithing access, I’ve become more and more interested in coldsmithing, and metalsmithing I can do with a small torch at home.

This book covers the entire range of metal work, including a section on wirework. There is just an enormous amount of information, ranging from stamping and stone setting to engraving and enameling. All the information is well presented with beautiful photos and in-depth, easy-to-follow information.

I wouldn’t go so far as to say “this is the only book you will ever need” for metal work. But it comes really darn close!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

