Arte Es Vida


Beaded Jewelry With Found Objects by arteesvida
December 5, 2006, 2:19 am
Filed under: Beading, Book Reviews, Mixed Media, Non-Traditional Jewelry

I have been saying for years that if I were to write a jewelry making book it would be on “trash to treasure” jewelry, which is my favorite time of jewelry to create! Beaded Jewelry With Found Objects By Carole Rodgers is the first I have seen that really focuses on the creative use of un-jewelry-like materials in the creation of beautiful new designs…I love it!

Even putting aside the focus on found objects, this book is an excellent resource on beaded stitch work. The book covers, and nicely illustrates, the right-angle weave, the ladder stitch, peyote stitching, netting, backstitching and couching. It then builds on these techniques to show how to use many of them to create the straps and the fringe work for many of the projects!

There is an entire section devoted to beading cabochon (whether your cabochon is a polished stone or a magnifying glass!). If you love the look of beaded stitch work but hate the fuss, there are several projects that use bead embroidery instead. A much simpler technique but still a stunning effect!

But the whole book isn’t centered on stitch work as the cover may suggest. Carole Rodgers incorporates all kinds of goodies into beautiful jewelry designs! Hardware (such as drawer pulls and copper pipe elbows), pieces of glass (beach glass and perfume bottles), fishing lures (spinner jewelry and fish worm necklaces) game pieces (Mahjongg brooches and domino necklaces), buttons and coins (Chinese coin necklaces and vintage button chokers), and items from nature (gourd necklaces and shell brooches) just name a few of the projects the book covers.

I had some fishing swivels I had purchased to make sun catchers, but I was so tickled with her use of them in the book, I created my own fish swivel earrings after reading it! If you love finding new uses for different materials, you will adore this book!


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had a quick question in
which I’d like to askk if you don’t mind. I was curious
to find out how you center yourself and clear yur head before writing.
I’ve had trouble cloearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.
I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually
lost just trying to figure out how to begin.
Any recommendations or tips? Appreciate it!

Comment by Jenny




Leave a Reply

