Arte Es Vida


Art Doll Pins by arteesvida
December 2, 2006, 3:33 am
Filed under: Clay Jewelry, Non-Traditional Jewelry, Product Reviews, Rubber Stamping

I am totally enamored with art dolls. I spend a ridiculous amount of money four times a year on Art Doll Quarterly magazine and look desperately forward to doing so! (ADQ, by the way, is lush and gorgeous and each issue is a collectors item, it is well worth the price!)

I’ve been incorporating beaded art dolls in to my purses but wanted something that wears tougher for jewelry making. Being the self-proclaimed Queen of Polymer Clay, I knew which medium I wanted to use. I found lots of gorgeous art doll rubber stamp sets out there, but they were all way out of my starving-artist price range! After pouting about it for a few months, I lucked on to Vickie Enkoff’s Creative Chaos stamp line.

Both of these dolls come from Vickie Enkoff’s Indigo Dolls sheet. The trick with working with rubber stamps in polymer clay is to get rubber stamps that are made with deeply etched rubber. The cheaper stamps won’t show detail the way you need them too. Vickie’s stamps are the best price for the quality that I have found. You will notice in the picture that I left the edges a little rough…I did that on purpose to take advantage of the primative design elements in the dolls!

Supplies:

Art doll rubber stamps

Black polymer clay

Pearl Ex in Copper, Aztec Gold, and Green*

Polymer clay tools for trimming and smoothing

Clay dedicated pasta machine or clay dedicated roller

Clay dedicated oven for baking clay

Non-yellowing acrylic sealer (I used Future Floor Finish)

Jewelry adhesive such as Jewel Glue or E-6000

Pin backings for each pin

Condition and roll out your polymer clay to about 1/6 to 1/8 of an inch. I used black clay because I like how well it takes pigment powders, but you can use any scrap clay…just make sure you cover it very well!

Press your art doll stamps in to the clay carefully, making sure you embed all of the fine detail. Remove stamp and cut out along the edges of the doll. Smooth out any fingerprints and rough edges (I left a few for a more primitive look) that bother you.

Brush on pearl ex powders. I used:

· A layer of copper
· A bit of Aztec gold to give depth to the copper
· A second layer of copper
· Some green just on the highlights of the patterns to create a soft verdigris look on the copper

Bake according to clay manufacturer’s directions. Add a coat of acrylic sealer and let dry. (I heat set Future Floor Finish to dry for a few minutes at the same temperature that I baked the clay at.) Add pin backing with a jewelry grade adhesive and let dry completely before wearing.

* You can use paints in place of pearl ex powders. Art chalks are another good option although you will not be able to replicate the metallic look of the pins shown here!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

